New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy has signed an important expansion of the state’s Move Over Law, providing added protection to drivers of vehicles that break down on highways. The new law, signed on Tuesday, broadens the scope of the existing law, which originally required drivers to move over a lane only if police, first responders, or tow truck drivers were on the scene of an incident.
Under the updated law, all disabled vehicles with hazard lights flashing or displaying road flares or reflective warning triangles are now covered. This means that motorists who find themselves with a disabled vehicle on the shoulder of a road will benefit from increased safety measures.
New Jersey has now joined 20 other states, including Connecticut, Delaware, Pennsylvania, and New York, in extending protections to drivers with hazard lights or other warning devices displayed while their disabled vehicle is on the roadside. The penalties for violating the new law are similar to those of the existing Move Over Law, with fines ranging from $100 to $500 and no motor vehicle points.
The law is set to go into effect 45 days after Governor Murphy’s signing on Tuesday.
The original Move Over Law in New Jersey, which covered police, fire, ambulances, and tow trucks, was initially signed in 2009. In 2020, it was amended to include two motor vehicle points for violators, in addition to fines.
The Assembly version of the new Move Over Law bill passed unanimously on December 7, with the Senate approving the measure 36 to 0 last week.