The Lakewood Historical Society and the Lakewood Heritage Commission are inviting the public to hear a basic History of Lakewood at the Lakewood Public Library, 301 Lexington Avenue, November 9 at 7:00 p.m., presented by Dr. Stan Liptzin, the chairperson of the Lakewood Historical Society and the director of the Lakewood Historical Museum.
Did you know that Lakewood was once called Bricksburg? Or that famous literary icons like Rudyard Kipling and Mark Twain once spent their winters vacationing in Lakewood? Do you know how Lake Carasaljo got its name?
The Lakewood Historical Society and Sheldon Wolpin Lakewood Historical Museum celebrates and preserves Lakewood’s rich and unique history. Dr. Stan Liptzin has been a resident of Lakewood since 1948. He will guide attendees on a journey through Lakewood’s history and evolution over the years from the time before Lakewood’s settlement, its founding and establishment as a town of sawmill and iron furnace industries, through its era as a popular winter resort town and training site for famous athletes, to its diverse and culturally rich present. Historic artifacts from the Lakewood Historical Museum will also be on display.
About Dr. Stan Liptzin: Dr. Liptzin was educated in the Lakewood Schools and graduated from Lakewood High School in 1955. He received a Bachelor’s of Science Degree in 1959, a Master Degree in Education in 1963 and his Doctorate in History of Education in 1975. Dr. Liptzin taught history in Lakewood High School for 32 years, also serving as Department Chairman of the History Department until in 1991. In 1991, until his retirement in 2001, he served a Central Office Administrator as Director of History and Foreign Languages for his last ten years serving Lakewood Education.
Dr. Liptzin was also coached the Baseball team in Lakewood for 32 years, winning three championships in 1973, 1980, and 1984. He is presently in four Halls of Fame—The Lakewood High School Alumni Hall of Fame, the Lakewood High School Athletic Hall of Fame, The New Jersey Shore Athletic Hall of Fame, and the New Jersey State Baseball Coaches Hall of Fame. In January of 2024 he will be inducted into the New Jersey State Interscholastic Coaches Hall of Fame. He is presently the president of three organizations: The Lakewood Historical Society, the Lakewood High School Athletic Hall of Fame, and the Rutgers Class of 1959.
Dr. Liptzin also taught History of Education Courses at Rutgers University and Ocean County College prior to his retirement. Stan Liptzin is married to Eileen Mininsohn Liptzin for 61 years. They have three children, Shari Rosenbloom. Debi Rothenberg, and Scott Liptzin. Their family has extended to nine grandchildren and four great grandchildren.
About the Lakewood Historical Museum: The Lakewood Historical Museum, Pine Park, Lakewood, N.J., is housed in Kuser Hall, a two-story, 16,000 square-foot former classroom building. Through the volunteer efforts of members in the Historical Society and the Heritage Commission, the first floor of Kuser Hall has been transformed into a showcase, featuring galleries of Lakewood memorabilia and artifacts. Funds are needed to restore the second floor of Kuser Hall, and to acquire and build an elevator.
Kuser Hall is the last remaining building of five that made up the Newman School, an exclusive preparatory boarding school for boys, which closed in 1942 as young men left for the war. The building, which the township acquired in 1964 through Green Acres Funding, was the math and science center of the school.